The 2017 St George Football Association (SGFA) Gold Medal winner is Ross Gardner.

Ross was awarded the Associations highest honour at a gala evening held at The Kyle Bay on Georges River last Friday evening.

The evening was hosted by Fox Sport Australia’s Tara Rushton and included a Q&A with a panel including former socceroos Craig Foster, Aytek Genc, Scott Ollerenshaw and current Sydney FC player Josh Brilliante.

The evening also paid homage to Les Murray and Mike Cockerill,with Craig Foster making a fitting tribute to two “football warriors” who had strong links to the St George area.

SGFA were honoured to have all five patrons attend the evening, David Coleman MP, Linda Burney MP, Steve Kamper MP, Chris Minns MP and Mark Coure MP along with our 22 member Clubs, SGFA Football4All Program, St George Warriors and NPL Club St George City.

SGFA would also like to make special thanks to Chris Gardiner, Football NSW Director, Albert Martinez, Editor at the St George & Sutherland Shire Leader as well as our key partners Andrew Head from Deploy Football and Eddie and Tamika Lucock from St George Health for attending the evening.

Gold Medal Ross Gardner

  • Involved in football in the St George District for almost 60 years.
  • In 1958 at the age of 6 he made his debut in San Souci FC’s inaugural season playing in an under 10’s team.
  • Since that time, he has been involved in every facet of the game, as a player, committee member, and administrator.
  • His playing career included stints at Sans Souci, Dolls Point, and St George Budapest.
  • As a volunteer and administrator he has held the positions of Delegate, Auditor, Secretary and President of St George Football Association.
  • He has been a Delegate to numerous Football NSW Committees, as well as coaching various juniors at grass roots and representative level.
  • In 2013 he was awarded the Charles Valentine Medal by Football NSW for his contribution to the game
  • He has been recognised with life membership at Sans Souci, Dolls Point and SGFA.
  • For over 15 year and until just recently he has held the position of President of St George Football Club

The other award recipients on the evening are below.

Referee of the Year – Murray Wilson

St George & Sutherland Shire Leader Golden Boot

Premier League Men – Michael Amed

Premier Womens League – Karen Saavedra

Player of the Year

Premier League Men – Zekarias Sampson

Premier Womens League – Sotiria Psakis

Junior Competition Fair Play Award – Ramsgate RSL & Oatley FC

Stan Moses Shield – Hurstville City Minotaurs Over 45 Team

A.S Tanner Shield – Arncliffe Aurora

W.R Dobson Trophy – Hurstville City Minotaurs

2017 Club Championship Shield – Arncliffe Aurora

Club Person of the Year

Arncliffe AuroraTalal ArbidKogarah WaratahSteve Dafnakis
ASOWCon FiamegosLugarno FCAtef Elassi
Banksia TigersHassan TaoubeOatley RSLNatalie Jones
Bexley NorthPeter VourakisPeakhurst UnitedSharon Whyte
Carlton RoversLeanne MaceyPenshurst WestAlan Chen
Carss ParkKylie PikeRamsgate RSLMichael Flevaris
Connells Point RoversTrevor CohenRockdale City RaidersStephen Milgate
Dolls PointBushy PillayRockdale City SunsVicki Phillips
Forest RangersGina TravasSans Souci FCChelsea Robertson
Glory FCJenni YoungScots FCNick Kojdovksi
Hurstville City MinotaursAngelo SrbinovskiSt George WarriorsPenny Hancock
Hurstville ZFCJack BulicReferee VolunteerWarwick Hayes

2017 Champions (Minor Premiers)

PL 1stScots FC
PL ResArncliffe Aurora
AAA 1stRockdale City Suns
AAA ResSans Souci FC
12AArncliffe Aurora
12BForest Rangers (1)
12COatley FC (2)
13AConnells Point Rovers
13BScots FC
14AArncliffe Aurora
14BSans Souci
14CBanksia Tigers
15ASans Souci FC
15BASOW (1)
15CHurstville City Minotaurs
16ABanksia Tigers
16BLugarno FC
18ASans Souci FC (1)
18BConnells Point Rovers
18COatley FC
AABCarss Park FC
AACConnells Point Rovers
AADForest Rangers
AAECarss Park (2)
AAFForest Rangers (2)
12 GirlsCarss Park FC
14 GAOatley FC
14 GBPeakhurst United
16GAConnells Point Rovers (1)
16GBBanksia Tigers
PWLDolls Point
AAWABexley North FC
AAWBArncliffe Aurora
O45AHurstville City Minotaurs
O35AOatley FC
O35BRamsgate RSL
O35CConnells Point Rovers