Birth of Football in St George

Football St George (then the St George Soccer Association) was established in 1924, with a committee including Messrs Coleman, Read, Knight, Hunt, Gilbert, Frisk, Whithall, West, and Biddolph.

The first season featured a men’s competition. The opening round was held on 13 May 1924, with teams including Arncliffe, Banksia, Brighton, Cronulla, Hurstville, Iona, Kogarah, St George, Lancers, Penshurst, Penshurst United, Rockdale, Rockdale Diamonds, and Rovers.

The St George Soccer Association was first affiliated with the Illawarra Association in 1924, before changing in 1925 to be affiliated with the New South Wales and Sydney Board of Control.

Golden Jubilee (50 years of Football in St George)

Commemorating the Golden Jubilee, the then St George Soccer Association produced a book containing a history of the Association and its clubs.

The Golden Jubilee book provides an intriguing insight into the history of football in St George.