At the Annual General Meeting on 11 March 2024 the Football St George Members returned Irene Hatzipetros and Malcolm Smith to directorships in a resounding fashion, and elected a new director in Matt Grant.

Irene Hatzipetros was elected to the Football St George Board in 2019, and became the association’s first female Chairperson in 2020, a position she has held ever since. Irene has been a staunch advocate for Football St George Member clubs, representing their interests with Council, State Government, and on Football NSW advisory bodies. Irene’s legal qualifications and professional experience in business and government have proven invaluable to the Association.

Malcolm Smith was appointed to fill a casual vacancy on the Football St George Board in 2022. Leading into his election in 2024, Mal’s football experience as a player, coach, and committee member, combined with his professional experience in operations and communication have greatly assisted the Association manage the complex and challenging scenarios that can arise in community sport.

Joining Irene and Mal, and rounding out the three director vacancies is new director Matt Grant, who is no stranger to Football St George, having played in the region for many years, and chaired the Disciplinary Committee in 2023. Matt has an extensive history in corporate governance, risk, and compliance, and will bring his valuable experience to enhance the Football St George Board.

Departing the Football St George Board is John Stojanovski. John has been a long serving director across two appointments on the Football St George Board, along with countless hours as a committee member and team official with local clubs. John has an unmatched knowledge of the game locally, and his guidance and support will be missed by the Football St George Board, staff, and members.

The Football St George is comprised of the following elected directors;

  • Irene Hatzipetros (Chair)
  • Gregory Chronopoulos
  • Mathew Papas
  • Malcolm Smith
  • Matt Grant