Players, coaches, officials as well as high profile guests attended what was a fantastic evening acknowledging the achievements from the Football St George 2023 season held at Doltone House, Sylvania Waters on Friday, 29 September 2023.

It was an amazing night as over 300 guests enjoyed what was a massive year for the sport in the St George Region in 2023.

There were a number of special guests that attended the Football St George Gold Medal Dinner which included The Hon. David Coleman MP (Member of Banks), Mr Sam Elmir (Mayor of Georges River Council), Mr Paul Sedrak (Councillor of Bayside Council), Gilbert Lorquet (Chairperson of Football NSW), Debbie Chapman (Director of Football NSW), John Tsatsimas (CEO of Football NSW), Nick Kambounias (Chairperson of Football Canterbury), and Football St George Life Members John Hedison and Jacky Finlay-Jones.

The ABC’s Daniel Garb was MC for the evening and started the night off with an Acknowledgement of Country followed by the formalities before continuing with the presentation of the 2023 Football St George awards.

Football St George Chairperson and Executive Director Irene Hatzipetros was delighted with the end of season Gold Medal and Awards celebrations.

“It was with a great sense of pleasure, honour, and pride that we all came together for the Football St George Gold Medal Awards. It was yet again a momentous occasion where we celebrated the pinnacle of excellence in the sport, we all hold dear to our hearts.”

“During the evening, we recognised and commended the outstanding achievements of our members, volunteers, coaches and managers, players and our amazing referees who have exhibited immense passion, dedication, and commitment throughout the year. As we reflected upon their remarkable feats, we also bask in the glory of their triumphs and pay tribute to their undeniable contribution to the world of football.”

“Change is constant in football and Football St George needs to maintain dynamism and cannot be flatfooted, hence the importance for us to continue to evolve. Working with positive difference makers at Football St George and the Member Clubs has undoubtedly been very meaningful and rewarding.”

The evening continued with the presentation of many Football St George awards commencing with the 2023 Minor Premiers resulting in a successful year for most of the Football St George Member Clubs followed by the Club Volunteer Awards which recognises the immense and vital contribution Club Volunteers make to the experience of everyone involved in football across the region.

The Referee Awards for the 2023 season included the Referee Volunteer of the Year, Junior Female Referee of the Year, Junior Male Referee of the Year and both Senior Female/Male Referees of the Year. Football St George would once again like to acknowledge and thank the St George Football Referees Association and all the Referees that were involved in the 2023 season.

Singers for Hire provided the entertainment for the night, and it was a wonderful duo performance featuring the “Rat Pack” which kept the guests entertained while everyone awaited the most prestigious award of the night, the Football St George Gold Medal Award.

Next on the agenda was the 2023 Football St George McDonald’s Premier League Golden Boot Awards which were awarded to both Ali Faour (Banksia Tigers FC) and Jason Trajkovski (Rockdale City Suns FC) both having scored 11 goals during the Premiership. Angelique Rodas (Oatley FC) received the Women’s Golden Boot having scored 15 goals from 13 matches played.

Following the Golden Boot Awards, Football St George awarded the 2023 Football St George McDonald’s Premier League Players of the Year to Edward Ehiozee (Forest Rangers FC) and Grace Ryanhart (Scots FC) in recognition of the most influential male and female player in the Premier League competition.

Other awards that were announced on the night included:

  • Junior Competition Fair Play Award awarded to Bexley North FC in recognition of the Junior Club with 5 or more competition teams in the U12 to U18 age grades and who recorded the least amount of yellow and red cards during the season.
  • Stan Moses Sheild awarded to Rockdale City Suns FC Under 14 A Girls Team in recognition of the most outstanding A Grade team that won a Minor Premiership.
  • AS Tanner B.E.M. Sheild awarded to Forest Rangers FC in recognition of the Premier League Men Division 1 squad with the highest aggregate points across its First and Reserve Grade teams.
  • WR Dobson Trophy awarded to Dolls Point FC in recognition of the Club with 4 to 9 competition teams and who accumulated the highest average competition points across those teams.
  • Club Championship Sheild which was awarded to Sans Souci FC in recognition of the Club with 10 or more competition teams and who accumulated the highest average competition points across those teams.

To conclude the night was the awarding of the illustrious Football St George Gold Medal Award which was introduced 10 years ago when the then Association Executive Committee lead by John Hedison and the Late Sok Mallios, introduced “The Chairman’s Gold Medal” in recognition of an outstanding contribution over and above what would normally be expected of a person in the position they hold or have held, and is a contribution to the code which merits the highest possible acknowledgement.

The Gold Medal Award recipient epitomises the values not only of the club but that of football, volunteering and giving back to the community. Following a review of a number of incredible nominations for the Gold Medal Award by the Football St George Board, the Football St George Chair and Executive Director Ms Irene Hatzipetros, was delighted to announce Tracey Alex (Forest Rangers FC) as the 2023 Gold Medal Award winner.

Football St George would once again like to congratulate Tracey and all the award recipients from the 2023 Season, and we are already looking forward to an even bigger year in 2024.

2023 Football St George Award Winners Honour Role

Gold Medal Award

  • Tracey Alex – Forest Rangers FC

Referees Most Outstanding Achievement Award

  • Referee Volunteer of the Year – Roger Doenau
  • Junior Female Referee of the Year – Stephanie O’Sullivan
  • Junior Male Referee of the Year – Marco Venturino
  • Senior Female Referee of the Year – Heidi Breeze
  • Senior Male Referee of the Year – Con Zygouras

Premier League Men’s Awards

  • Golden Boot – Ali Faour – Banksia Tigers FC, and Jason Trajkovski – Rockdale City Suns FC
  • Player of the Year – Edward Ehiozee – Forest Rangers FC

Premier League Women’s Awards

  • Golden Boot – Angelique Rodas – Oatley FC
  • Player of the Year – Grace Ryanhart – Scots FC

Junior Competition Fair Play Award

  • Bexley North FC

Stan Moses Shield

  • Rockdale City Suns Under 14 A Girls

A S Tanner Shield

  • Forest Rangers FC

W R Dobson Trophy (Club Championship 4-9 Teams)

  • Dolls Point FC

2023 FSG Club Championship (10 or more teams)

  • Sans Souci FC

2023 Club Volunteers of the Year

  • Arncliffe Aurora FC, Eid Reda
  • All Saints Oatley West FC, Simon Briddle
  • Banksia Tigers FC, Louise Karnib
  • Bexley North FC, Linda Touma
  • Carlton Rovers FC, Jo Di Meglio
  • Carss Park FC, Richard Palonis
  • Connells Point Rovers FC, Gary Webley
  • Dolls Point FC, Clay Muir
  • Forest Rangers FC, Stephanie Yates
  • Hurstville City Minotaurs FC, Alexi Brakatselos
  • Hurstville Glory FC, Arthur Sakellaris
  • Hurstville ZFC, Matthew Barbic
  • Lugarno FC, Jeremy Peisley
  • Oatley FC, Domenic Severino
  • Peakhurst United FC, Sharon Whyte
  • Penshurst West FC, Darren James
  • Ramsgate RSL FC, Daniel Whittaker
  • Rockdale City Raiders FC, Luke Catorall
  • Rockdale City Suns FC, Bobby Volcevski
  • Sans Souci FC, Marco Alvarez
  • Scots FC, Jessica Refalo