Our Community

St. George District

The St George Region is located in Sydney’s southern suburbs – between 12 and 17 kilometres from the Sydney GPO and encompasses three local areas; Hurstville City, Kogarah City and Rockdale City.

The 2011 population of the St George region is 232,000 and the area has a very diverse cultural demographic. It is bounded by Canterbury City, Wolli Creek, the Cooks River and the Marrickville Council area in the north, Botany Bay and the City of Botany Bay in the east, the Georges River in the south, and Salt Pan Creek in the west.

Hurstville (Part of Georges River Council)

Population 85,886

ABS ERP 2014

Land Area 2,282

Hectares (23KM2)

Population Density 37.64

persons per Hectare

Hurstville City is located about 17 kilometres from the Sydney GPO and is the largest central business district in southern Sydney.

Hurstville was incorporated as a municipality in 1887 and declared a city in 1988. At the 2011 Census, there were 78,855 people in the Hurstville local government area, of these 48.5% were male and 51.5% were female.

Kogarah (Part of Georges River Council)

Population 61,030

ABS ERP 2014

Land Area 1,552

Hectares (23KM2)

Population Density 39.32

persons per Hectare

Kogarah City is located about 15 kilometres from the Sydney GPO. The community of Kogarah’s is diverse in its language, culture and religion.

The Australia Bureau of Statistics 2011 Census Data indicate that more than 41% of Kogarah’s population was born overseas, 50% of people speak a language other than English in the home and over 25 different religions are represented.

This diversity in the community helps to shape the unique character of Kogarah and contribute to the social, economic and cultural development of the area.

Council Contact Details
Georges River Council
Phone: 1300 525 705
Website: www.georgesriver.nsw.gov.au

Rockdale City (Part of Bayside Council)

Population 108,072

ABS ERP 2014

Land Area 2,823

Hectares (23KM2)

Population Density 38.28

persons per Hectare

Rockdale City is located about 12 kilometres from the Sydney GPO and has a mixture of residential, commercial and light industrial areas.

The traditional owners of the City of Rockdale include the Cadigal, the Gweagal and the Bidjigal tribes. Known as ‘Water People’, these tribes inhabit the Bay area for thousands of years before white settlers arrive.

Rockdale was known by Europeans as Frog Hollow, then White Gum Flat and later as West Botany and is the administrative centre for the local government area of the City of Rockdale.

The Mayor of The City of Rockdale is Cr Bill Saravinovski.

Further information about the City of Rockdale can be found here.

Council Contact Details
Bayside Council
Phone: 9562 1666
Website: www.bayside.nsw.gov.au