Dual Winners of SGFA Gold Medal Award

The St George Football Association (SGFA) Gold Medal Presentation took centre stage at Club Central Hurstville on Friday 23rd of September as players, coaches and officials attended, acknowledging the achievements from 2016 season.

The evening brought together representatives from all 22 Clubs, the St George Warriors Special Needs Program and the St George Football Referees Association as well as special guests Chris Minns, NSW Member for Kogarah , Sydney FC players Michael Zullo and Brandon O’Neil and Mark Marcianiak, Principal at James Cook Boys Techology High School, in attendance. The evening was hosted by Peter Slater, brother of former Socceroo  and St George player Robbie Slater.

The highlight of the evening was the presentation of the SGFA Gold Medal Award, which saw dual winners announced for 2016, in Bob Klinker and Peter ” The General” Sarikakis. It was an emotional evening that honoured two local “legends” of the game and recognised their outstanding contribution to St George football over many decades.

2016 St George Football Association Award Winners Honour Role

Gold Medal Award            

  • Peter (The General) Sarikakis – Hurstville City Minotaurs
  • Bob Klinker – ASOW / Forest Rangers

Referees Most Outstanding Achievement Award

  • Hassan Jomaa

Premier League Awards

  • Golden Boot – Fadi Ghosson, Banksia Tigers
  • Player of the Year (321) – Adrian Cacciotti, Oatley RSL

Premier League Womens Awards

  • Golden Boot – Melissa Toumbelekis – Scots FC
  • Player of the Year (321) – Sarah Watt – Lugarno FC

Junior Competition Fair Play Award  

  • Rockdale City Suns

Stan Moses Shield

  • Hurstville City Minotaurs O45

AS Tanner Shield 

  • Arncliffe Aurora

W R Dobson Trophy (4-9 Teams) 

  • Scots FC

2016 Club Championship Shield (10 or more teams)

  • Arncliffe Aurora

2016 Club Person of the Year

Club Winner
Arncliffe Aurora Dina Elachi
ASOW Denis Wood
Banksia Tigers Hussein Darwich
Bexley North John White
Carlton Rovers Michael Sender
Carss Park Paola Mercuri
Connells Point Rovers Luciano Benedet
Dolls Point Sal Torrisi
Forest Rangers Dusty McSheffery
Glory FC Angela Sakellaris
Hurstville City Minotaurs Sam Michael
Hurstville ZSC Tanya Vasilj
Kogarah Waratah Michael Ferraz
Lugarno FC Emma O’Keefe
Oatley RSL Mitch Ivanov
Peakhurst United Sharon Whyte
Penshurst West Melissa Soares
Ramsgate RSL Mark Yacoel
Rockdale City Raiders Brian O’Rourke
Rockdale City Suns Simon Golovodovski
Sans Souci FC David Madden
Scots FC Kon Kuskovski
St George Warriors Dianne Fyfe

2016 Champions (Minor Premiers)

Grade Club
PL 1st Arncliffe Aurora
PL Res Arncliffe Aurora
AAA 1st Forest Rangers
AAA Res Forest Rangers
12A Connells Point Rovers
12B Bexley North FC
12C Scots FC
13A Arncliffe Aurora
13B Connells Point Rovers
13C Bexley North (1)
14A Connells Point Rovers (1)
14B Arncliffe Aurora
14C Connells Point Rovers
15A Banksia Tigers
15B Sans Souci FC (1)
16A Connells Point Rovers
16B Oatley RSL
18A Arncliffe Aurora
17/18B Sans Souci FC
17/18C Rockdale Suns
AAB Lugarno FC
AAC Hurstville Glory
AAD Dolls Point
AAE Sans Souci FC
AAF Oatley RSL
AAG Kogarah Waratah
12 Girls Carss Park
13GA Bexley North
13GB Forest Rangers
14 Girls Rockdale City Suns
16GA Lugarno FC (1)
16GB Hurstville ZFC
PWL Scots FC
AAWB Forest Rangers (2)
AAWC Hurstville ZFC
O45A Hurstville City Minotaurs
O35B Rockdale City Suns
O35C Oatley RSL (1)
O35D Oatley RSL

Photo Credit: Brett Neilson www.nielsenimages.com.au